PCHF 2018 Champions of the Community

Filed in awards, news by on December 10, 2018

2018 Champions of the Community. LtoR:
Rear: Rob Chisholm, Elizabeth Clarke, Christopher White
Front: Lee and Adam Deveney

Phoenixville:  Stop a minute and look around you…every community has someone who goes above and beyond when it comes to giving of their time and helping others.  Maybe it is a co-worker, a neighbor, a friend, or even a relative. Maybe they are older and have been giving a long time; maybe they are younger and learning the joys of giving … or anywhere in between.

For the past 18 years the Phoenixville Community Health Foundation has been honoring these “Champions of the Community”.  Since the year 2000 when this program was first developed, 76 unsung heroes have been honored as Community Champions. On Friday, November 30, 2018 the Foundation continued this tradition. The Champions of the Community Award Luncheon was held at the Phoenixville Country Club with 74 people in attendance. Ten nominations were received from the community. The Selection Committee, comprised of Foundation Board members Chuck Benz, Jessica Capistrant, John Colarusso, Lauren Eustis, and Theresa Thornton, reviewed all nominations.

The 2018 Champions of the Community are:

  • Rob Chisholm nominated by Elissa Llorens on behalf of the members of the Cornerstone Clubhouse for 16 year of volunteerism with the Clubhouse. Rob serves the community in many ways advancing the cause of community-based mental health support systems.
  • Lee & Adam Deveney were nominated by Donald Coppedge. They have made giving back to their community an integral part of their lives for over 40 years.
  • Elizabeth Stafford Clarke, nominated by Tracy Shantz for her tireless community work realizing that the gift of time is sometimes more valuable than any check that can be written.
  • Christopher White nominated by Greg Porter for using his own life experience and founding an organization serving at-risk youth from chaos-based lives. For the past 10 years he has volunteered his time to help students through turbulent times.

Other Nominees were: Ken George for service to Orion Communities, Gary Goldstein for service to the ALS Association, Joyceann Husted for service to the ARC of Chester County , Joseph Rowan for service to Phoenixville PAL, and Cynthia Lobb for service to the Phoenixville Area Senior Center.

Kimberton Fire Company: Bryan Sims, Matt Cole, Cliff Amole, Doug Gable [not pictured: Charles Fields] Friendship Dive Team: Joe Behm, Joe Motzer, Tyler Frees, Rick Smethers, and Scott Hamrick

This year the Foundation awarded a special Championship to the Phoenixville area emergency services volunteers. Kimberton Fire Company and the Friendship Dive Team were honored for their role in rescuing a 12-year-old boy from the Pickering Creek this past August. Through their commitment to training they found a strategy that allowed him to return home uninjured. Day after day, volunteer fire fighters, emergency services and dive team personnel respond to calls for help. They work together with respect for expertise and knowledge with one goal in mind – keeping the community safe. Kimberton Fire Company and Friendship Dive Team members were on hand to accept the award. From Kimberton Fire Company: Bryan Sims, Incident Commander; Matt Cole; Cliff Amole; Doug Gable; and Deputy Fire Chief, Charles Fields who made this nomination. From the Friendship Dive Team: Joe Behm, Deputy Chief; Joe Motzer; Tyler Frees; Rick Smethers; and Scott Hamrick, Chief.

The mission of the Phoenixville Community Health Foundation is to improve the health and quality of life for people in the greater Phoenixville region by increasing access to quality healthcare services and promoting healthy communities through grant-making and collaborations with health, civic, business and community partners. The Phoenixville Community Health Foundation strives to b a Champion of the Community.

Comments are closed.